Moderator(s):
Thread Score:
Page 1 of 1
Thread Actions

4/19/2018 at 9:56:33 PM GMT
March 2018 President's Message - Substance Use Disorder Treatment in the ED

Substance Use Disorder Treatment in the ED

By Aimee Moulin, MD, FACEP

When I was a resident at LA County Hospital, one of our frequently flyers - I’ll call her Janet - was an intermittently homeless women in her mid 40’s with bright blue eyes and wavy, gray brown hair. Janet would complement my earrings or shoes in a way that you could tell she had once cared a lot about her looks. She’d lived for many years with addiction to alcohol, benzos, and opiates. Perhaps Janet sold the Norco we gave her; she was once caught trying to buy another patient’s shoes in exchange for her Norco. Janet could be manipulative, belligerent, and occasionally combative; but we took care of her so often in the emergency department (ED) we’d come to adopt her. Sometimes on my way to work I’d give her $5 as I passed her panhandling in front of the hospital. She was a permanent fixture of my residency, until the day she was found dead alone in a hotel room. In the hundreds of times I had taken care of Janet not once did I talk to her about addiction, or offer treatment for her substance use disorder.

According to the 2014 National Survey of Drug Use and Health, 20.2 million Americans have a substance use disorder.1 It will not surprise anyone who has worked in an ED that substance use disorders are highly prevalent in ED populations.2 The Drug Abuse Warning Network (DAWN) estimated there were 5.1 million drug related ED visits in 2011.3 The actual number of ED patients with substance use disorders is likely much higher.4-6 In one multi-center study, as many as 64% of adult ED patients met criteria for problematic substance use.6 Yet, few are in treatment.4,7